Steno Witch

Catchup - Day 122 through 134

Copy + pasted from FB

Day 122/200

#RememberingGina Day 15/100 Lots of drills frmo BriefIt and then also using realtime to figure out my number misstrokes and redefine them. We were on the record for 5 hours today almost nonstop anddd that's a lot for me, but I know it had to be 15 minutes because I would spend one minute between cases (at least) according to the clock, and we had more than 15 cases on lol. #36daysofgratitudeforgina Day 22/36 I can't say enough that I'm grateful for my partner. fjdkal;fjdkla;rejl;a. He makes food. I don't know. He does everything. I feel like such a bum but ugh. Just grateful for everyone good in my life.

Day 123/200

#RememberingGina 16/100 Wrote from complaints and did more focused numbers practice. Wrote some pre-court conversations too. #36daysofgratitudeforgina Day 23/36 Grateful for potatoes.

Day 124/200

#RememberingGina 17/100 My mentee and I wrote to one of Justin Bieber's depositions. Florida. The attorneys asked for "readback" and just got playback. Oof. The digital sounded like she was being mean as hell too, ime. And I'm no belieber. Also drilled my most commonly missed short forms + phrases for sentencings and pleas. #36daysofgratitudeforgina Day 24/36 Grateful for Fridayyyy

Day 125/200

#RememberingGina 18/200… doh, at some point i started using the wrong hashtag. #remembergina. Wrote a bunch of hardcopy (complaints) while lawyers got themselves sorted. Sorry for the blandness lmao. I feel like a zombie bc I’m still figuring out how to efficiently scope and proofread. 23 minutes of practice according to my timer. #36daysofgratitudeforgina Day 25/36 Grateful for popcorn. Popcorn for dinner. Popcorn for lunch. 😇

Day 126/200

#RememberGina 19/200 Did 15 minutes of EXTREMELY light finger drills from the stenotype technique book. Extremely light. I got a massage on my forearms and wrists this morning from a place that specializes in athletics and injuries in isolation and in combination. I was worried that the massage therapist would say, "Oh, my God, you REALLY effed yourself up and this is the worst pair of arms I have ever seen!" But he said that it was normal for people like pianists or people who were on the computer a lot, lol. It felt really good but then I was kinda sore, and also, he told me to rest. I like him, so I'll listen. #36daysofgratitudeforgina Day 26/36 Grateful for knowledge. If all humans were like me, we would have stopped learning about massage after we figured out that it feels good to have someone rub our backs. I wonder if humanity figured out how to pull on tendons and stuff without any cadaver research? Or do you think they had to see them to understand how they worked? 🤔

Day 127/200

#RememberGina 20/200 15 more minutes of light finger drills. Woke up feeling WAAAYYYY better but with an interesting soreness where the pain had been taken away. I don’t know how to describe it lol. #36daysofgratitudeforgina Day 27/36 Grateful for work 😤

Day 128/200

#Remembergina 21/100 A few minutes of a meeting. I’m really losing my spark, man. Burning out maybe? Got back to some hardcopy with my alien book and went on for about 20 minutes. #36daysofgratitudeforgina Day 28/36 Grateful for serotonin. It’s out there, people.

Day 129/200

#Remembergina 22/200 5-10 minutes before work with new briefs for sentencings and pleas. I’ve got “I’m showing you a document” and other ridiculously long stuff now and I’m sure I can think of others later. Then wrote a 10 min meditation video. I now realize that the meditation videos cannot be steno’d and followed at the same time bc I’ve been meditating a lil. Lololol #36daysofgratitudeforgina 29/36 Grateful it’s wintery. ❄️❄️❄️ I’m much more alive in the cold. So my practice is happening a bit earlier every day. Maybe this year I can keep my morning habits into summertime. For years, I worked nights, so I didn’t see 5 a.m. very often. But this past summer I realized 5 to 8 are the tolerable August hours. 😂 It was hard to wake up and see them, though.

Day 130/200

#Remembergina 23/100 2 JC at 200 wpm. (10 minutes.) 1 Q&A at 225 wpm. (5 minutes.) Today is just not it, comrades. Gonna go to bed early and wake up at 4 or 5 before we head out to Milwaukee. I know I’ll be bubbly and happy to practice again soon 🙂 #36daysofgratitudeforgina 30/36 Grateful for having a home 🙂

Day 131/200

#Remembergina 24/100 Drills 40 minutes. Time just flew by. Oops. Overdid it. Gotta be careful for finger pain. 2 practice RPR legs, lit and jc. This is just getting ridiculous. Gotta get it. #36daysofgratitudeforgina 31/36 Grateful to be challenged rather than bored. (Trying to feel grateful, anyway.) And for a lot of practice material.

Day 132/200

#remembergina Day 25/100 30 minutes of RPR lit practice exams/repeats till my allergy medication kicked in. No longer itchy, now drowsy. Hotel for Christmas. No negotiations. #36daysofgratitudeforGina Day 32/36 Grateful for my sister, Katelyn.

Day 133/200

RPR lit test on repeat+ finger drills. Altogether got 45 minutes in. I paused a little bit, but if I did the practice test audio more than 3 times--and I did--I know it was at least 15. Suddenly 180 lit feels sooo difficult. That's usually a good sign, but I'm pretty down on myself about it. If I can't get this simple thing even when I repeat the audio, I feel like a bad stenographer. And lots of other things, but there's no reason to wallow in it. #remembergina 26/100 #36daysofgratitudeforgina 33/36 Grateful for experience. I knowww that when audio feels worse in practice, it means new growth is underfoot. It hurts my confidence, but not as much as it did when I was a student. Edit: Amy Doman reminded me today was going to be a good day. So I willed it, so it shall be 😛 Tons of good was in my practice sesh too. I should always remember that. I got it in early, my accuracy was high even if I was slow, and I didn’t get distracted.

Day 134/200

Practice RMR lit, jury charge, + QA. Droppitydropdrop. Practice RPR lit from yesterday. Felt less shitty. #remembergina 27/100 #36DaysofgratitudeforGina 34/36 Grateful for Erin Blair and our convos :')

#steno #stenography