Steno Witch

Day 67/200

Did 13 minutes of controlled speed practice from ev360 and had a revelation about staying on top of the speaker. I feel like a dang genius now that this has finally sunk in: In tests, you have to stay on top of the speaker because there's no reprieve, but the advantage is that, unlike in the real world, you know that there will be no reprieve and you know that there is no way to stop it, so you must keep going. Duh.

I also feel supergood because there was this 225-word-per-minute take that was way too fast. I thought that surely it must be in my head. Opened my WPM meter and, nope, even with all my dropping, it was coming in at 230-260 for few minutes consecutively. That's a nice feeling.

One other thing that felt helpful is just reminding myself that every single bad day precedes a good day. Always. Always. Always. Because yesterday, practice felt awful. And today, I was great on the record.

To that end, I'm going to try to make sure my practice is always less than an hour. More than 15 minutes, less than an hour. That seems like a good sweet spot on the days that I work. Outside of work, like on the weekends, two hours or so might be good.

The controlled practice felt so weirdly high intensity -- I guess I'm not the best at staying on top of speakers. My brain felt thoroughly exercised. Ten more minutes to a podcast.

#good practice day #positive thoughts #ramble #rambling #steno #stenography