Steno Witch

Days 85, 86, 87, 88, and 89/200

Day 85/200

More practediting. Did you know you can add 5 pages onto your own transcript by yammering on while other people are trying to speak to you? I'd tally up my re-writing time to 25 minutes.

And btw, after adding up the hours of re-listening to this mfer and making sure I didn't mishear any of his freaking babble, it was so, so not worth it. I undercharged mega.

Day 86/200

24 minutes of 260-225 Q and A. 3 takes each, though one must have gone long. Maybe I tried a fourth in there. I think small practice sessions are really helpful lately, so I will try to see if I can do two 20-minute sessions in a day without overdoing it. Honing practice into higher quality material in less time has been helpful at work.

Now I will try to write those five focused phone practice sentence thingies for my five phrases:
• and you went • and I went • and I knew • nothing else • anything else

I can think of nonsense sentences alllll day long, but I‘m stuck when I sit down to make some purposefully. Hah.

** After I posted this in my practice group, someone gave me a link to a sentence-finder resource. **

Day 87/200

20 minutes of "Buffy." Um. I don't feel guilty. I clearly feel a little guilty because I construe my habits as my morality. But I will just say that court ended late in the morning. It ended late in the afternoon. And between the two, we shoehorned in an extra hearing. 🤦🏻‍♀️ My hands were red.

Day 88/200

34 minutes. Did some sentences for my phrases from sentencedict. ...and also "Buffy."

Day 89/200

27 minutes in the practice group's OneDrive folders. Did a practice RMR Q&A, a practice CRR take, listened to some of the 300 wpm and "hard AF lits" and attempted some 280, then went back down to some of the warmup takes for RPR exams and some Q&A RPRs.

Trying to register for one leg of the RPR and the websites giving me grief. Ahh. Trying to decide if I want to continue clawing through one leg at a time. I get so emotional that I don't know if I could rebound for multiple legs in a day. Everyone who passed all 3 legs in one day has my forever respect. 🥰 And I should just believe that I can bounce back from any bad attempts instead of worrying. I bet I can adapt. Here we goooo.

Also, today one of my favorite clerks was with us. She sat behind me doing updating and I know she wasn't looking at my screen, but even if she had, I wouldn't have minded.

#steno #stenography