Steno Witch

Days 92 through 100 out of 200

Been fighting a cold for a couple of weeks and finally succumbed today, lol. So my posts have been on my dailies but nothing here.

Day 92/200

22 minutes of hardcopy. 🙂

Day 93/200

This is one of those days where I wouldn’t believe I had practiced if I hadn’t gotten a record of it in the Case CAT file lmao. I did names. Names as far as the eye can see. Your name. My name. Place names. School names. 33 minutes. Voir dire tomorrow.

Day 94/200

~30 minutes of writing my partner telling me about his day on the phone. Wasn't sure how else to get my practice today. Heh.

Day 95/200

Full 3 legs of a practice RPR + warmups. So that's 18 minutes.

Day 96/200

Just 15 minutes of "Stenotype Technique" drills w/ the long vowels. I had a killer headache today and I'm paranoid lol but then again this trial is also low-key triggering. I felt fine when the victim gave testimony and I was like, "Wow, I am basically a tough lady from Law & Order or something. I'm very unaffected. Amazing." But for some reason the testimony sergeant who initially interviewed them made me so nervous. My heart was racing and my head just started to pound.

Day 97/200

Had to make up a ton of briefs at lunch bc my hands were really shaky in the morning and I didn’t know if I could hold it together for the verdict. So I drilled those over the hour.

Day 98/200

More case-specific drilling. I wonder if it works the same when they’re made days in advance or if my brain prefers to make them up 20 minutes in advance? Because making them up on the fly isn’t my inherent skill either. I had never thought of a briefing strategy somewhere between studying something for weeks and making it up in a millisecond. Then did 3 RPR practice legs as practice.

Day 99/200

On Sundays we practice to Buffy. 2.5 episodes. Call it about 45 minutes when you account for music and stuff 💜🥰

Day 100/200

I made it halfway. So that's really nice. Today I did one 260 WPM Q and A, and then I did four 225 WPM Q and As. I didn't do too well. Have a bad cold. Had snot running down my face while on the record today.

#big post #steno #stenography